History of Technology at the TUM and in Munich

Logo des Münchner Zentrums für Wissenschafts- und Technikgeschichte

The History of Technology subject area’s main focus is the investigation of the intellectual and social dimensions of technology from a historical perspective. The issue at stake here is that any technology, if it is to succeed, must be designed to espouse the cultural and historical background of a society. This presupposes an understanding of this society and the historical transformation processes in which it is permanently involved. Thus, our primary mission is to cultivate this insight within the engineering and natural sciences curricula at the Technische Universität München.

In order to do so, the History of Technology subject area builds a variety of bridges between engineering and the natural sciences on the one hand and the humanities and social sciences on the other –be it in the interdisciplinary classes offered at the Technische Universität, in joint research projects with research institutes based in and around Munich, not to mention nationwide or European research cooperation.

If these activities can be carried out successfully, it is only thanks to long-term cooperation within the fertile scientific arena in Munich as well as with national and international partner institutions. The umbrella organisation for these research activities is the Munich Center for the History of Science and Technology that brings together academic and museum-related institutions devoted to the history of science, medicine and technology. The large interuniversity research centre linking these domains is located at the Deutsches Museum. It is on these stimulating and historic premises that the History of Technology subject area is also housed.

Furthermore, since 2012, the subject area is part ot the > Munich Center for Technology in Society (MCTS) where it is conducting research together with the social sciences as well as the engineering sciences on technology and society.

Technikgeschichte an der TUM und in München

Logo des Münchner Zentrums für Wissenschafts- und Technikgeschichte

Im Mittelpunkt der Aktivitäten der Professur für Technikgeschichte steht die Auseinandersetzung mit der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Dimension der Technik in historischer Perspektive. Sie lehrt, dass alle Technik im Respekt für eine kulturhistorisch gewachsene Gesellschaft konzipiert werden muss, wenn sie gelingen soll. Das setzt das Verständnis dieser Gesellschaft und der historischen Wandlungsprozesse, in denen sie sich laufend befindet, voraus. Dies für die Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften an der Technischen Universität München fruchtbar zu machen, ist unsere erste Aufgabe.

Um dem gerecht zu werden, schlägt die Professur für Technikgeschichte in vielfacher Weise die Brücke zwischen den Ingenieur- und Naturwissen-schaften auf der einen und den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften auf der anderen Seite: in der überfachlichen Lehre der Technischen Universität, in gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten mit wissenschaftlichen Institutionen in München und dessen näherer Umgebung, sowie in bundesweiten und europäischen Forschungsverbünden.

All diese Aktivitäten sind nur dank der dauerhaften Kooperation im wissenschaftlich reichen Münchner Umfeld sowie mit nationalen und internationalen Partnerinstitutionen möglich und erfolgreich.  Die wissenschaftliche Heimat dieser Forschungsaktivitäten ist das Münchner Zentrum für Wissenschafts- und Technikgeschichte, in dem die Universitäts- und Museums-institute der Wissenschafts-, Medizin-  und Technikgeschichte Münchens kooperieren. Standort dieses größten interuniversitären Forschungsverbundes der beteiligten Fächer ist das Deutsche Museum, in dessen ebenso anregenden wie geschichtsträchtigen Fluren auch die Professur für Technikgeschichte der TUM seine Werkstatt hat.

Seit 2012 ist die Professur für Technikgeschichte Mitglied des Munich Center for Technology in Society (MCTS) und forscht dort interdisziplinär mit den Sozial- und den Technikwissenschaften zu Fragen von Technik und Gesellschaft.